Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


Board Meeting Minutes

Sign up for the News Update.

Sub Navigation




Home > breadcrumbs: Board Meeting Minutes >


Ajax Loading Image


February 10, 2014 BOE Meeting

The Nemaha Central Board of Education met Monday, February 10 for the regular monthly meeting. Three board members were recognized for continuing education points with the Kansas Association of School Boards – Jean Placke, David Clements and Owen Zinke.


Kelly Williams, NVHS teacher, spoke to the members regarding his introduction of the “flipped teaching” classroom method during the 2012-13 school year. Mr. Williams shared that the new method was an adjustment for the students and required additional time on his part. He plans to continue the method with only one class for tenth graders which he feels will be more manageable for him and better for this age of students. He responded to several questions from the members.


Resignations effective the end of the year were accepted from Mary Boeckman, Bridget Davis, Abby Stueve and Risa Gilbert (full-time position). A resignation from Connie Detweiler, effective February 14, was also approved.A supplemental contract for Wendy Strathman as middle school assistant track coach was approved.


The 2014-15 school calendar was approved. The first day of school for students will be Thursday, August 14 and the final day on Friday, May 22.


Supt. Kohlman presented bids for several projects.


1. Replace asphalt with concrete at the high school driveway – Suther Building, $9,625 (1540 sq. ft.); $9,800 (1568 sq. ft.); $17,250 (2760 sq. ft.); $12,690 (2030 sq. ft.). Gary Love Construction, $11,495 (Phase 1); $16,258 (Phase 2). The bids from Suther Building for $9,625 and $9,800 were approved.


2. High school main gym floor sanding, refinishing, artwork and volleyball sleeve covers – Lankford Enterprises Inc., $17,970; Acme Floor Co., $21,931.High school secondary gym floor sanding, refinishing, artwork and volleyball sleeve covers – Lankford Enterprises Inc.$13,220; Acme Floor Co., $18,354.Middle school gym floor sanding, refinishing, artwork and volleyball sleeve covers – Lankford Enterprises Inc., $12,170; Acme Floor Co., $18,353. The total bid of $44,810 from Lankford Enterprises Inc. to complete all three gym floors was approved.


3.Paint the walls of both high school gyms – J.F. McGivern, Inc., $37,810; Neale Painting, $27,580. The bid from Neale Painting in the amount of $27,580 was approved.


4. Elementary/Middle School signs – Individual Room signs, AHRS, $4,829. Front entry display cases, AHRS, $6,859. Outdoor front sign, AHRS, $6,412. All three bids were approved.


5. Virco Art Tables & Stools for the high school – The purchase of ten drawing tables and twenty stools for the art department from Virco for a total of $16,536 was approved.


6. Supt. Kohlman discussed with the members the idea of converting the computer lab in the elementary building to classrooms. He stated that the project is estimated to cost approximately $30,000 so bids will need to be solicited. The consensus of the members was that Mr. Kohlman should seek bids to be considered at a later meeting.


Members approved a change in the last day of school for students at the B&B building from May 22 to May 19 to allow time for staff to pack materials for moving.


Licensed personnel were approved for the 2014-15 school year. The full-time personnel are as follows: (positions are yet to be determined). Gene Barrett, Angela Bass, Cory Bass, Tamela Becker, Tracy Broxterman, Joan Buessing, Brooke Burdiek, Dyan Cornelison, Kelly Coup, Ricky Creek, Katelyn Deters, Catherine Enneking, Briana Evans, Mary Jane Fleming, Betty Gleason, Jason Hajek, Carla Hajek, Lindsey Haug, Betty Hecht, Odette Helm, Dennis Hermreck, Michael Hill, Hadden Hiltgen, Kelli Holthaus, Nichole Honeyman, Melinda Jones, Pat Jones, Jamie Koch, Jessica Koch, Deborah Kramer, Karla Kramer, Julie Lueger, Renee McKernan, Carla Meyer, Joan Meyer, Sharon Meyer, Laurie Niehues, Betty Peterson, Marcia Philbrick, Michael Philbrick, Danielle Reinecke, Carol Sack, Michelle Schmelzle, Amy Schmitz, Anthony Scism, Ben Scism, Kelsey Scism, Warren Seitz, Darcel Stallbaumer, Laurie Stallbaumer, Bruce Stanley, Shana Steinlage, Theresa Steinlage, Brooke Strathman, Julie Strathman, Terrence Stueve, Angela Suther, Jon Thomas, Roxanne Thomas, Katherine Vore, Paul Wertenberger, and Kelly Williams.

Part-time personnel approved were: Sara Feldkamp, Risa Gilbert and Roger Stallbaumer.


Supplemental contracts were also approved. A complete listing may be requested from Colette Hermesch, Clerk.

Back To Top