Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


Board Meeting Minutes

Sign up for the News Update.

Sub Navigation




Home > breadcrumbs: Board Meeting Minutes >


Ajax Loading Image


October 2014 BOE Meetings

The Nemaha Central Board of Education met for two meetings in October. The regular meeting was held on Monday, October 13 at the Nemaha Central Elementary & Middle School media center.

Technology presentations were given by Laurie Niehues and Cathy Enneking. Mrs. Niehues, counselor at NCEMS, presented information on the Digital Citizenship class she is teaching students so that they are aware of safe practices in the digital media environment. She demonstrated a free on-line curriculum “Common Sense Media”, which she has presented to parents and students.

Mrs. Enneking, teacher at Nemaha Central High School, showed the digital textbook she has created for the students in French I.

Mr. Michael Hill, President of the Nemaha Central Education Association, addressed the members of the desire of the association to maintain a positive working relationship between the NCEA and Board of Education.

Member David Clements was approved as the voting delegate at the KASB Annual Convention in December. Owen Zinke was approved as the alternate. The convention will be in Overland Park December 5-7.

Members approved a special meeting on October 20 beginning at 5:30 p.m. for the purpose of updating the Strategic Plan.  Supt. Kohlman gave an update of enrollment in both buildings. The elementary/middle school is now at 389 and there are 253 students in the high school. Mr. Kohlman also discussed the Rose Capacities and a teacher/parent/student perception survey that will be provided by KSDE and McREL at no cost to the district.

The members and superintendent also discussed the possibility of adding minutes to the student day and having fewer total days next school year.


The special meeting was held on October 20 at the elementary/middle school cafeteria as approved at the October 13 meeting. This meeting was to lay the groundwork for updating the USD 115 Strategic Plan. Action Steps in all Target Areas have been 99% completed under the current plan, dated 2011-2015.

Members of the committee are the seven board members, Darrel Kohlman, Pat McKernan, Amy Beck, Amy Haussler, Jay Baumgartner, Dyan Cornelison, Carla Hajek, Sarah Hiltgen, Lisa Holthaus, Nikki Honeyman, Amy Kuckelman, Heath Lutz, Ed Mohney, Joe Reitz, Courtney Schmelzle, Angelia Steiner, Jon Thomas and Deanna Wullschleger. The process is being facilitated by Bart Swartz with the Southeast Kansas Education Service Center and Doug Moeckel, Kansas Association of School Boards.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:30 with a later meeting date to be determined.

Back To Top